2017-03-28 Jimmi D’s – They Can’t All Be Winners.. 2

Sometimes, it’s just about a Cheeseburger. 😃

On Saturday (yes, I know that was like 3 days ago now), the kids and I met my Mom and Sister’s and my sister’s husband, Bob, at a restaurant and Bar called Jimi D’s. I really like the place, it’s a mid-tier bar, so not a dive and not super schmu-schmu. I’ve probably been there 10 or 12 times in the past so the menu is quite familiar to me and most of the time the food is pretty good.

Strange thing, I’ve never ordered a cheeseburger. I’m not quite sure why that is because as a general rule, if it’s on the menu, I order it (at least once) to see if it’s the next “best thing ever”. I did order it this time, though, and as it turns out, it was not the best thing ever.

The first red flag is when the waitress did not ask me how I wanted it cooked. As the hamburger patty is the star of the show, how it is treated is extremely important. If you don’t find out, and prepare it exactly as desired, then how can it perform on center stage and meet any expectation? As it were, when not asked the norm is medium which is too my liking, but this one was definitely over done.

The patty was dry and somewhat bland. The basic elements were there.. the toasted Kaiser bun, the cheddar cheese (albeit probably not enough for my liking) and some tomato and lettuce on the side. However, there were a few things that were absent from the plate. Pickles and onions are a few that I always like to try with a bite, especially if there is not a lot of flavor to start with.

There was also no inclusion of any other sauce, save for the catsup on the table, to enhance the flavor. I will admit that I like to, again, try to get a baseline without sauce, but in this instance it would almost be a must.

The fries were very average also and did not add anything special to the combo. For a “bar” restaurant, it was pretty disappointing. I would give this one 2 out of 5 and when I go again, I would opt to choose something else on the menu. I know I’ve had good things there, but this one just was not among them. Let’s face it .. they can’t all be winners.

Until Next Cheeseburger,
Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

