2017-05-12 Austin – The District Kitchen.. 3.5

On my first night in town Rebecca and I flew solo for a girls dinner out at a place called the District Kitchen, and I had (you can guess), a cheeseburger. It was a bison burger, seasoned and cooked really well with just a touch not enough white cheddar cheese. The fries were good and my only other complaint was that it was not big enough. 😃

According to the menu, the pickles are “house made”, the tomato was farm fresh, and the bun was fresh backed brioche. All of that did not seem to make a difference in the flavor and I would still go with a 3.5. Above average, but not extraordinary.

I’ve had bison a couple of times before and sometimes I can taste a difference in the meat and sometimes I can’t. This leads me to believe that either 1). Somebody’s supplementing their bison meat with cow or 2.) Not all bison are created equal. I also wonder a little bit about the process. I mean, there are tons of cattle ranches across the united states and it is a staple in the American diet. I don’t go hunting for information on it because I think the less I know about it the better. But Bison? That’s an animal that is more “rare” and people seek them out on vacations to national parks and they live on wildlife preserves. They are very wild animals and also known to be dangerous so it just does not seem like the kind of animal that would be on a “farm”. Again, I think the less I know the better, but I still kind of wonder.

At the District Kitchen we had the hummus and veggies and pita chips as an appetizer and I ordered a couple of drinks which went down really easy.

It was all very good but, again, I was not “wowed” by any of it. Truth be told, if I ever go back, I will probably try something else, in the interest of variety being the spice of life. But since my MO is to always default to the cheeseburger first, it had to be done.

One and Done,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

