2017-05-15 Austin – Mother’s Day Sunday Fun Day

It appears that each of my blog posts are a day behind. I’m writing about yesterday when I wake up and that’s probably because I don’t want to miss a minute of the action during the day/evening to write. This time is no exception.

By the time I got up yesterday morning the bounce house had already been delivered and there was a wonder full smell of baking brunch goodies wafting through the house. Folks were if full-on hosting mode and preparing for guests to start arriving at 9.

I did some stretching and exercise in the exercise room and avoided all the prep until I heard other people start to arrive. Once that happened, I got ready and went to join the festivities.

It was such a great day. I snacked and had mimosas on and off for several hours and just kind of hung around different conversations. They had about 13 adults and 8 kids. It was one of those things where it felt really relaxing to just be present and chat and there was no pressure or anxiety that I sometimes feel around a room full of people. I’m sure the mimosas help with that.

I also did not hesitate to be “one of the kids” in the bounce house. It was a giant blow-up obstacle course complete with a set of stairs you climb up and slide to slide down. I’m not sure if I dominated the bounce house or if it dominated me. I’ve got a few nasty bounce house burns from the slide that still stung when I woke up today.

I was a touch sad to not be with my kids on mother’s day, but I spoke to them both and will be back home on Tuesday. I called my mom and talked to her too for a little bit. She admitted to having a hard time not having any plans with her four children today. But I reminded her I would see her on Tuesday also, and that it’s just another random day (which is really how I feel about it), and that it will be OK.

I really have always disliked the “day” holidays. Mother’s day, father’s day, bosses day, and valentines day is the worst. THE WORST. So I tend to kind of downplay any fan-fare and just treat it like any other day. In this case though, having a party (that I did not have to plan, or host, or prep for), was quite amazing.

I’ve already done a few work things this morning but think I’m going to take advantage of the nice/cool start to the day and go play some tennis. Lance has agreed to play with me so as long as he is still open to that, I’m going to make that my priority. The work will still be there when I get back. It’s (in the short term) unavoidable.

Love Love,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

