2017-05-29 Denver – Downtown Rooftop Patio is What is Up

Sometimes I wish I posted pics with my blog so folks could see what I see. A picture is worth a thousand words and I could just post a bunch of pictures and never need to write again. However, that would defeat my purpose.

I’m on the 3rd floor patio of Lance’s apartment building and it is a nice mix of flowers and green with a concrete patio. There are planters with herbs and flowers and veggies and several sets of tables and chairs in different corners of the space. The entire patio is surrounded by tall buildings so it does not really feel like you are on a rooftop, unless you walk to the edge and look down.

Earlier I strolled up and down 16th street which is blocked off from most traffic. It’s a lovely brick street lined with restaurants, shops, and other businesses on either side. All of that is also surrounded by the tall buildings of downtown Denver. Since it is a holiday it is teeming with people and a bit too crowded for my taste.

I basically went wandering in order to find a clothing store because in my haste I did not pack enough.. or perhaps just not the right things. It is colder here than I expected and I have only one jacket and the sweatshirt I brought was more for if I was going to go workout or play tennis or something, and not for wearing out.

I did find one store that had a few things that would do for now and just about that time I was reminded, by my stomach, of another priority more important than having proper clothing. Food. I really wanted something healthy and did not want to spend a long time sitting in a restaurant ordering food by myself, so I opted to step into a salad shop. I ordered the a small cobb salad. It was ten dollars. TEN DOLLARS?? for a salad?! A good reminder of why I don’t (and probably never will) live downtown in a major metropolitan area. Everything is over priced.

In fact, all the people, overpriced food and mass consumerism are all reminders. I would much rather grab an apple and my laptop and find some quiet spot to hang out alone. I don’t need a lot, and I don’t want to be dependent on a lot. Pretty soon now, my bank account/budget are going to back me up on that. The longer I can stretch my dollars, the longer I can go without needing a big income.

Many people my age are still “climbing” because that’s what we were brought up to believe was the thing to do. That way was the path to success and happiness. I’m beginning to feel differently. I am beginning to think that true happiness is not with things, but relationships and the simple pleasures in life. A good book. A spot of sunshine to stretch out in. A smile or hug from a friend. Pretty soon now I am going to have a lot more free time and I’m going to test that theory.

In the last 20 minutes the bright blue sky was taken over by dark clouds. The rain is now pouring down on the rooftop patio and I had to escape back up to the 9th floor. Now that it is nice and dark outside, it feels like a good time to take a nap. 😃

Except Lance just got home.

Peace Out,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

