2017-05-29 I’m so in Denver Right Now

I occurred to me when I woke up this morning that it’s been a few days since I wrote anything. Well, in truth, it occurred to me yesterday when I was driving across Nebraska, but I was driving, so I could not really do anything about it at the time.

Four days ago I quit my job. That’s pretty big news, and it is maybe going to take some time to sink in. I’ve told a few people, but not many. My sister knows but I have not told my parents yet and probably that will be best served in a face to face. Really, I’m still kind of getting used to the idea myself and I’ve got four weeks left of work, so taking my time on all of it.

Four days ago I quit my job and this morning I’m waking up in Denver. I’m staying with a friend of mine for a few days. He lives on the 9th floor of an apartment building on 16th and Larimer. It was kind of a spur of the moment trip, but he just broke up with a girl and had an extra ticket to a concert at Red Rocks and so I jumped at the invite. I’ve only been to a concert there once before, but it’s one of the best venues I’ve ever been to. It should be pretty cool.

It’s a long holiday weekend and I’m going to end up working from here for a day or so before driving back home. It’s a long (boring) drive across Nebraska just to go to a concert, so I wanted to stay for a few days and live the downtown life.

The drive yesterday was long indeed, and that much time in the car alone gave me a some serious time to think. I thought about my job and the people that I work with that I’m no longer going to be working with and it made me emotional. I thought about what I might do with my time off and that made me feel free and happy.

I thought about Matt and the road trips we have been on before, both good and bad, and that made me emotional too. One minute I was getting teary thinking about something and the next minute smiling about something else. I found it very strange how up and down I was the entire time.

I stopped in Ogallala Nebraska to buy a lottery ticket (as is my custom), but after going to two places and finding they no longer sell them, I figured it was not going to be my lucky day and gave up and got back on I-80. It took me a fairly long time to make the trip because I did stop several times along the way, but I arrived last night around 7:30.

Today is the actual holiday, so no work and I really don’t know what the plan will be for the day. It’s only 7AM here and I woke up with a slight headache so I may drink some water and lay back down for a bit. We’ll see where the day goes from there.

Mile High,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

