2017-06-01 Waking up Wonderful

Have you ever woke up feeling refreshed and happy? This morning I did, and it feels amazing. Yesterday was a rough one for sure, but I made it home and the kids tucked me in about 9:30 PM. (When I go to sleep before them, that’s what we do.)

I woke up around 5:30 AM and according to my trusty FitBit I had 7.5 hours of sleep. It was much needed. When I woke up I stretched and took a second to gauge how I was feeling. Much better than yesterday. My brain immediately kicked into gear, as it always does, thinking about all the things to do today. It was work first of course, but then Jazzercise, making sure Z get’s to her first day of summer PE ok, and watering flowers I bought but have not planted yet.

I went through my morning phone ritual as usual. I checked the times on Jazzercise classes. I checked the weather to help determine what I am going to wear to work today and I checked my meeting schedule.

I have a full day of meetings, but for the first time in a long time I am not bothered by that. I can truly start to let go of all the things that I will not be getting to and put the proper focus on what I am actually doing. A webex training session with a customer and a meeting with my boss plus more lab work for a new customer. Anything above and beyond that is icing on the cake.

The amazing part comes in when I roll over and lay on my stomach for a few minutes and think about what is to come. It’s freedom to be able to think about whatever you want to think about and not have the mind tied down by all the weight that has been a burden for so long.

I got up briefly to open the curtains and the window so I could see the sky get light as the sun comes up and hear the birds going through their own morning rituals. Then I nestled back into my bed to enjoy it for just a little longer. I’m so positive today is going to be a good day. I’m so happy to be feeling positive. THIS, my friends, is how you know you have made the right decisions.

Second Stretch, then Shower,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

