2017-07-11 PNW Day 1: Waking Up in Portland

I lost another day of my life yesterday to travel, but it will all be worth it now that I am in Portland… now that WE are in Portland. The kids and I made the trek yesterday which included three airports, two plane rides, one late night visit to a rental car facility, and lots of Nintendo 3DS. We did not arrive at our motel until 1:30 local time (which is 3:30AM Nebraska time). It’s almost 10AM here now and the kids are still sleeping. It wears a person out.

When I booked this trip, I had a very loose agenda. That really has not changed. I had the air travel set, and reserved a rental car, and a thought to drive up and down the coast from Northern Cali where the Redwoods are to Seattle where my friend Princess KK lives. I still don’t have hotels reserved or any idea what I’m going to be doing on which day. We have a week to play with and am sticking to the idea that whatever happens happens.

My sister loves Portland and Seattle so she gave me some tips for places to go and things to see and do. I’ve also been to Portland (back in 2016) and really don’t need to repeat any of those things. Since we’ve already slept past what I am sure would have been the most amazing free breakfast ever here at the Airport Econo Lodge, we will probably head downtown when the kids get up and grab some VooDoo. That is one thing we did not do the last time I was here.

After that, it’s a quick 20 minute walk to Keller fountain park downtown and then the afternoon will be wide open for whatever other adventure awaits. We have a car this time, so traveling outside the city to Multnimah falls is a possibility. I’m not sure if we will stay an extra night here at a nicer place so the kids can go swimming in an indoor hotel or if we will just get outta town and head for the coast. I guess we will see.

I have a feeling that no matter what happens, it’s going to be a great day! 😃

Sunny and 75,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

