2017-07-13 Sand Dollar Sunset Cheeseburger.. 4.25

I ended up booking a hotel in Rockaway Oregon because there were no rooms in Manzanita. Insert super sad face here but it’s good because I need to learn to branch out and try new things. I am now glad that I did because if it went differently I never would have experienced the Sand Dollar Cheeseburger.

The kids and I checked into the Silver Sands Motel around 5:30 PM and they immediately put their swim suits on and headed for the pool. The motel offered an indoor pool and hot tub which is, I think, pretty rare for these beach town motels. The pool was OK, and after I surveyed that they would be safe there, I wandered up and down the beach a bit. We spent so much time at the first beach we went to, the kids had no interest in this one, but that’s OK.

Later as the sun started to set it was time to figure out the dinner situation. I made the kids eat a piece of fruit while we talked about it. All they really wanted was french fries and I was in no mood to argue about it so I said I would find a place and bring them back some. The lady at the motel desk recommended the Sand Dollar, which was a convenient two block walk away.

Just as I arrived the sun was very low and I opted to sit out on the patio and have my cheeseburger while the sun set. It was a very generous patty cooked medium at my request. And for the first time in a while, it was actually served medium like they knew what they were doing. I ordered just the basic burger which came with Tillamook cheddar cheese (of course), onion, tomato, and house aioli (no lettuce at my request). It was served on a fresh and tasty bun. I ordered it with fries, which were cooked to perfection and had some really nice seasoning.

The first thing I did was cut the burger in half because it was quite large and I was sure that was all I would be able to eat. It was juicy but not too juicy and the sauce was really good, but not overpowering. The flavor of the burger came through nicely. At some places all you can taste is the sauce or the bun or something else, but this was just right. It was the perfect proportion of all the ingredients.

The sun set while I was waiting for my food and the place closes at 9PM. I did not want to linger and overstay their hospitality for allowing me to order so late so I quickly finished my half burger and took the rest to-go with an extra side of fries for the kids.

When I arrived back at the motel, they were starving and it had only been about 15 minutes since I left the restaurant but I opted to eat the other half of the burger right then. It was so good. The kids did not care for the seasoning on the fries, but what do they know, they are just kids. 😛

I would highly recommend this restaurant, not just for the food, but also the friendly service and wonderful view. I give it a solid 4.25. My only other comment would be to arrive early enough that you relax on the patio and enjoy the view while you dine. I would definitely go there again.

Cheers,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

