2017-07-23 Not Quite the Night I Was Hoping For

Of all the things I thought I might be writing about when I woke up today, being sick overnight was not one of them. I expected, after having a couple drinks at dinner and taking a Xanax that I would sleep like a baby (finally) and wake up rested and ready for a wonderful Sunday. Instead I woke up at 3AM feeling worse than I have felt in a long time.

My sore throat had gotten worse still and I felt very chilled which to me only means one thing and that is that I had a fever. Not only that, but my head hurt so bad I could barely stand without getting dizzy and my stomach was a wreck too. Part of me knows that the sore throat and fever is legit but the other symptoms I probably brought on myself with the drinking. But I only had two freaking cocktails, so that’s really rotten.

I immediately took an Excedrin as soon as I sat up as the headache is the thing that makes me feel the worst and if it turns migraine, then it’s so game over for me. I already had too many other things in my system to try and take promethazine for my nausea so I the Excedrin was the best I could do despite the fact that it has caffeine and I for sure wanted to try and go back to sleep.

After that I got up to take my temp and sure enough I had a low grade fever of 99.7. After laying back down for about five minutes the nausea got the best of me and I yakked up the contents of my stomach. That cheeseburger did not taste as good coming back up as it did going down. Ewwww. Throwing up made me feel a little better, as it always does and I grabbed a cool wash cloth for my face and went back to bed.

I was not sure how much of the Excedrin was absorbed into my blood stream I thought some might and did not want to take any more of that either so I just put that cloth on my face and tried to go back to sleep, which eventually I did. Thanks goodness.

I did toss and turn quite a bit and when 6:30AM came around I decided to get back up. The throat is better, the fever is gone, the nausea is gone and pretty much the only thing lingering is this headache.

I’m supposed to meet a new person for coffee today at 11:30 and when I woke up at 3 I thought, “no way that’s happening now”, but at this point, if I can squash my headache, it could still be in the cards for today. However, my weekly Sunday morning Jazzercise with Leah at 8:30 may still be out. It’s only 7:15 now so we’ll see.

Back to lay down a little longer now.
Exhausted,
~Miss SugarCookie

Leave a Reply

